Supply & Distribution

The Region of Waterloo is responsible for water treatment and the development, operation and maintenance of a trunk watermain network to distribute treated water to our water service areas.

Within the water service areas, development, operation and maintenance of networks of pipes and services connections are the responsibility of local municipalities, with the exception of North Dumfries and Wellesley Townships. For more details, visit Billing, Rates & Meters.

Water Services areas are defined as infrastructure areas that operate independently to provide water to one or more communities. The Region has five separate water services areas:

  • Integrated Urban System (Tri-Cities/Elmira/St. Jacobs/Lloyd Brown)
  • North Dumfries Township (Ayr, Branchton, Roseville)
  • Wilmot Township (New Hamburg/Baden, New Dundee, St. Agatha, Foxboro)
  • Wellesley Township (Linwood, St. Clements, Wellesley)
  • Woolwich Township (West Montrose, Conestogo, Maryhill, Heidelberg)

At present, our water supply comes from two sources: approximately 80 per cent is groundwater pumped from more than 100 supply wells; 20 per cent is surface water from the Grand River.

The ground water comes from subsurface aquifers, which are geologic units where water is stored between sand and gravel grains or between rock fractures.

The Region of Waterloo's water infrastructure system is complex, consisting of numerous supply sources, pressure zones, reservoirs and pumping stations. Ensuring sufficient pressure and quantities to meet current and planned growth requires a long-term, co-ordinated strategy.