Heritage Planning Advisory Committee

The Heritage Planning Advisory Committee was established in 1994 to advise the Region on heritage policies, issues and strategies.


The committee:

  • Advises Waterloo Region's Commissioner of Planning, Development and Legislative Services on Regional heritage issues
  • Gathers information, such as identifying locally significant heritage resources, and comments on development plans that affect these resources
  • Assists in the development and implementation of Regional heritage policies and strategies
  • Helps promote Regional heritage by increasing public awareness of local history
  • Collaborates with local post-secondary institutions and other heritage organizations

See the Committee Terms of Reference for more details on vision and duties.

Current Initiatives

  • Identifying Regionally Significant Heritage Resources
  • Public Building Inventory
  • Heritage bridge recognition and promotion
  • Educational workshops and resources for heritage property owners
  • Cultural heritage landscape identification and conservation
  • Historic Countryside Tour publication
  • Intensification and stable neighbourhoods

Agendas & Minutes

To see recent committee agendas and minutes, visit the Region's Advisory Committees page. For older documents, please contact the Regional Clerk's Office or call 519-575-4400.

Heritage Advisory Committee Members

All members must be residents of Waterloo Region. Appointed by Regional Council, they are chosen for their interest and experience with natural and built heritage. Current members include:

  • Natalie Hardacre, Waterloo
  • Andrea Carswell, Wellesley
  • Marg Rowell, Wilmot
  • Mary-Jean Page, North Dumfries
  • Elizabeth Waters Heinrichs, Kitchener
  • Carolyn Coakley, Wilmot
  • Brad Paddock, Cambridge
  • Elizabeth Thorsen, Kitchener
  • Ben Benninger, North Dumfries
  • Bonnie Bryant, Woolwich
  • Grace Sengul Ersoy, Cambridge
  • Alison Jackson, Friends of the Waterloo Region Museum
  • Barbara Wallace, Friends of the Joseph Schneider Haus

For more information on the Heritage Planning Advisory Committee, please contact Kate Hagerman, Cultural Heritage Principal Planner, at 519-575-4100, ext. 4094 or by email.

Links to Municipal Heritage Advisory Committees in Waterloo Region