Weed Control

Some weeds can harm livestock, crops and people. Under the Weed Control Act, you are required to destroy all noxious weeds.  Read the Weed Control Act then properly weed by removing and/or destroying all harmful species. 

Noxious weeds may be destroyed by the following methods:

  1. pulling or otherwise removing plants from the soil;
  2. cutting the roots or stalks before the seeds have properly developed;
  3. cultivating the soil in which the plants are growing;
  4. treating with a herbicide that destroys the weeds, prevents growth or ripening of seeds. 

With the exception of Giant Hogweed and Poison Ivy, the Region of Waterloo strongly encourages methods 1 - 3 to control noxious weeds. 

Enforcement of the Weed Control Act in the townships of North Dumfries, Wellesley, Wilmot and Woolwich is carried out by Region of Waterloo Area Weed Inspectors.  In the cities of Cambridge, Kitchener and Waterloo it is carried out by Municipal Weed Inspectors. 

The main purpose of the Weed Control Act is to reduce the impact of these poisonous weeds that might be on your property. 

Noxious weeds

Noxious weeds as defined in the Weed Control Act include:

If you have concerns about weeds such as dandelions or unkempt properties, please contact the property standards section of your local municipality.


A full listing of all weeds can be found on the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Website