Data Catalogue

Regional Municipal Boundaries


Dataset description


This dataset shows the extent of the Region of Waterloo as well as the boundaries of the seven area municipalities that comprise the Region (City of Cambridge, City of Kitchener, City of Waterloo, Township of North Dumfries, Township of Woolwich, Township of Wellesley, Township of Wilmot).

Data contact


Jeff Ham, GIS Manager
Information Technology Services, GIS Services

Data currency


June 2016

Data accuracy


The municipal boundaries represented in this layer have been created based on a combination of ownership and assessment information. As this layer does not exclusively represent ownership or assessment it should not be used as the authoritative source for either. This layer is a generalization of the extents of the Region of Waterloo and the seven area municipalities.



The following fields are included in this dataset:


Service Category



Website for further information




By downloading these files you are agreeing to abide by the Region's Licence for Open Data.

RegionalMunicipalBoundaries.shp, RegionalMunicipalBoundaries.kml

Back to Catalogue