Heritage Planning Advisory Committee

The Heritage Planning Advisory Committee was established in 1994 to advise the Region on heritage policies, issues and strategies.


The committee:

  • Advises Waterloo Region's Commissioner of Planning, Development and Legislative Services on Regional heritage issues
  • Gathers information, such as identifying locally significant heritage resources, and comments on development plans that affect these resources
  • Assists in the development and implementation of Regional heritage policies and strategies
  • Helps promote Regional heritage by increasing public awareness of local history
  • Collaborates with local post-secondary institutions and other heritage organizations

See the Committee Terms of Reference for more details on vision and duties.

Current Initiatives

  • Identifying Regionally Significant Heritage Resources
  • Public Building Inventory
  • Heritage bridge recognition and promotion
  • Educational workshops and resources for heritage property owners
  • Cultural heritage landscape identification and conservation
  • Historic Countryside Tour publication
  • Intensification and stable neighbourhoods

Agendas & Minutes

View agendas, minutes and archived webcasts through the new calendar. 

For previous year agendas and minutes please contact the Regional Clerk.

Heritage Advisory Committee Members

All members must be residents of Waterloo Region. Appointed by Regional Council, they are chosen for their interest and experience with natural and built heritage. Current members include:

  • Elizabeth Clarke, Regional Councillor
  • Andrea Carswell, Wellesley
  • Ben Benninger, North Dumfries
  • Bonnie Bryant, Woolwich
  • Grace Sengul Ersoy, Cambridge
  • Elizabeth Waters Heinrichs, Kitchener
  • Dr. Amanda Hooykaas, Kitchener
  • Alison Jackson, Friends of the Waterloo Region Museum
  • Brad Paddock, Cambridge
  • Mary-Jean Page, North Dumfries
  • Marg Rowell, Wilmot
  • Elizabeth Thorsen, Kitchener
  • Barbara Wallace, Friends of the Joseph Schneider Haus
  • Stephen Zepf, Kitchdener

For more information on the Heritage Planning Advisory Committee, please contact Kate Hagerman, Cultural Heritage Principal Planner, at 519-575-4100, ext. 4094 or by email.

Links to Municipal Heritage Advisory Committees in Waterloo Region