New Regional Council Begins 2022-2026 Term

Posted on Wednesday November 23, 2022

Waterloo Region – The inaugural meeting of the new Regional Council was held this evening, in council chambers at Regional headquarters.

In Chair Karen Redman’s inaugural address, she reflected on the increasing diversity around the council horseshoe and the role that friends, families, mentors, as well as local municipal campaign schools play in planting the seeds for positive change. Chair Redman also touched on the ingredients that have helped previous councils to positively impact their community.

“One of the strengths of this Region is the historic view of previous councils that transcends a four-year cycle of municipal elections,” said Chair Redman. “This type of vision has delivered real outcomes for residents. The Region of Waterloo’s success is a product of careful planning and an unwavering commitment to values.” 

The inaugural meeting was opened by a Thanksgiving Address from Dr. Darren Thomas. Regional Councillors subscribed their declaration of office before the Honourable Justice Lene Madsen and were provided an invocation by Father Myroslaw Tataryn from the Ukrainian Catholic Church of the Transfiguration. The students of Suddaby Public School Junior Choir sang the national anthem.

In her remarks, Chair Redman asked that council approach debates, whether about present issues of unknown challenges ahead, with thoughtfulness, collaboration and good-humour. “It is incumbent on us as elected officials to raise the level of discourse in our community,” she said. “To model the tenets of good governance and civility. Sometimes the best thing politicians can do, is listen.”

During the meeting, Councilors were officially appointed to the Region’s standing committees. Councillor Michael Harris will serve as Chair of Administration and Finance, Councillor Jim Erb will serve as Chair of Community and Health Services Committee and Councillor Colleen James will serve as Chair of Planning and Works Committee. Members of Council and citizens were also appointed to various committees and boards, including Waterloo Regional Police Services Board, Grand River Conservation Authority and the Board of Governors for both the University of Waterloo and Wilfrid Laurier University, among others.

The 2022-2026 Regional Council is comprised of:


  • Regional Chair Karen Redman
  • Councillor Doug Craig (Cambridge)
  • Councillor Robert Deutschmann (Kitchener)
  • Councillor Jim Erb (Waterloo)
  • Councillor Sue Foxton (North Dumfries)
  • Councillor Michael Harris (Kitchener)
  • Councillor Chantal Huinink (Waterloo)
  • Councillor Colleen James (Kitchener)
  • Councillor Jan Liggett (Cambridge)
  • Councillor Dorothy McCabe (Waterloo)
  • Councillor Joe Nowak (Wellesley)
  • Councillor Natasha Salonen (Wilmot)
  • Councillor Sandy Shantz (Woolwich)
  • Councillor Kari Williams (Kitchener)
  • Councillor Pam Wolf (Cambridge)
  • Councillor Berry Vrbanovic (Kitchener)







Contact Us