Dorothy McCabe

Phone: 519-747-8700
Email Dorothy McCabe

Mayor Dorothy McCabe was elected on Oct. 24, 2022. She represents the City as a Region of Waterloo Councillor as well as on a number of boards and committees.

Her professional career includes over 20 years of experience working in leadership positions with Mayors, City Councils and senior corporate leaders, a provincial Member of Parliament and Cabinet Minister, KidsAbility, Conestoga College and two Chambers of Commerce. In particular, Dorothy led and championed the development of the initial Two-Way All-Day GO rail business case — now the Toronto-Waterloo Corridor. As Mayor, she will continue to advocate for improved transit and transportation for all.

As an active community volunteer, Dorothy been involved with numerous organizations including as a:

  • Parents for Community Living board member
  • ClimateActionWR Transportation committee member
  • Glasgow Heights 2 Neighbourhood Association volunteer
  • Women in Communications and Technology board member
  • Youth Basketball League Coach and
  • Syrian Refugee family sponsor.

She believes our successful future requires unleashing Waterloo’s potential. Utilizing the diversity of expertise, skills and experience, the knowledge and compassion of the people and organizations in Waterloo will enable us to successfully tackle challenges and leverage opportunities.

Dorothy graduated from Wilfrid Laurier University with a BA in Communications & History. In 2012, she completed a Master's in Public Administration - Local Government specialty from Western University. 

As Mayor of the City of Waterloo, Dorothy is committed to public service, citizen engagement and advocating for change to ensure our community is ready for the future.

Dorothy has been appointed by Regional Council to the following Committees, Boards, Project Teams, Working Groups and Studies:

Standing Committees

  • Administration and Finance
  • Budget
  • Community and Health Services
  • Sustainability, Infrastructure and Development

Other Appointments

  • Jack Young Civic Award Committee

Contact Us